The French Camino de Santiago

Walking Route Length: 148 km
Walking Route Number of Stages: 7 Stages
Walking Route Duration: 5 Days

Come percorrerlo







The Camino de Santiago de Compostela is the long route that pilgrims have taken since the Middle Ages, through France and Spain, to reach the sanctuary of Santiago de Compostela and the tomb of the Apostle James the Greater. The French Way is the one with the greatest tradition and is the one best known internationally. It is roughly a journey of 800 km lasting 1 month. This Via in Spain and France has been defined as a World Heritage Site by Unesco and it is said that one knows where it arrives but not where it starts from as it can be considered the main route of the European Way.

It was consolidated as a Jacobean itinerary in the 11th century thanks to the work of many rulers of Navarre, Castile and Leon who advanced the reconquest and made the current route a territory free from Muslims. Important cities, full of history and art (Pamplona, ​​Logroño, Burgos, León) alternate with smaller towns and villages, many born in the shadow of the Way, rich in traditions and welcoming places for pilgrims.

The best of Spanish Romanesque and Gothic can be found along this itinerary and the best epic literature finds its setting here.

The itinerary begins in the Pyrenees mountains and proceeds along two variants which correspond to two different entry points: Roncesvalles (in Navarre) and Somport (in Aragon).

The routes merge at the town of Puente la Reina, to then head west crossing the territories of La Rioja and Castilla y León entering Galicia from O Cebreiro, a village that maintains its medieval appearance. The Galician section continues, meeting villages and small towns, many of which are contained in the "Liber Sancti Jacobi" or "Codex Callixtinus", to reach Sarria, the most important locality of this part of the Way which in fact marks the last 100 kilometers of the Way.

The Galician section with the following seven stages arrives in Santiago:

  1. O Cebreiro – Tricastela (22km)
  2. Tricastela – Sarria (14 km)
  3. Sarria – Portomarín (23 km)
  4. Portomarín – Palas de Rei (22 km)
  5. Palas de Rei – Arzúa (27 km)
  6. Arzúa – O Pino (21 km)
  7. O Pino-Cattedrale di Santiago de Compostela (19 km).

Share this article:

Route Photogallery

Other Route Same Country

The Camino de Santiago de la Plata
The Camino de Santiago (de la Plata) This is the path that follows the route of the Roman consular road called precis...
The Lebaniego Way in Cantabria
The Lebaniego Way in Cantabria From the beginning of the pilgrimage to Santiago, pilgrims following the Northern Way ...
The Portuguese Camino de Santiago
The Camino de Santiago (Portuguese) The Portuguese Way is one of the routes that make up the Way of Santiago de Compo...
The Via Francigena of Sigerico
The Via Francigena of Sigerico The Via Francigena has represented over the centuries, since the early Middle Ages, th...
Camino de la Vera Cruz
Camino de la Vera Cruz This pilgrimage route begins in the Navarrese Pyrenees, in San Jean de Pied de Port, and conti...
The Mozarabe fireplace
EL CAMINO MOZARABE El Camino de Santiago Mozárabe (also called Camino de Santiago Sa...
Ignacian fireplace
IGNACIAN FIREPLACE The Ignacian Way was born on the initiative of the Society of Jesus with the intention of recoveri...
The Way of San Colombano
The Way of San Colombano Born around 540 AD, Columbanus was one of the most influent...